The opening night of the Buckeye Prep Invitational tipped off on Friday night at New Covenant Believers Church in Columbus, Ohio with a slate of 6 games. The first round of games saw the 6th grade Y-Elite Superstars defeat Hidden Gems 58-14, and Charg1ng Elite 2031 get a win over the Ohio Hoopsters Underdogs 36-8. In the second round of games, the 2032 Buckeye Prep Hoopsters easily defeated the Y-Elite Superstars 30-11, while the 6th grade Gem City Heat took down the Ohio Hoopsters Legends 59-54.

The 3rd round of games were the most competitive of the night and were not decided until the last few seconds of the game. Specifically, the 7th grade Gem City Heat squeaked by the Midwest Basketball Club 54-53, while the Ohio Hoopsters-Monarchs took down Charg1ng Elite for the second time in a period of a week by a score of 34-29. As is always the case, several players logged in noteworthy individual performances on the opening night. Below is a list of players that caught our eye. Day II is already shaping up to be very competitive. Stay tuned for our Day II Report. You can also follow our coverage on IG @robt1.

Standout Performers

Name Hit/Pos Class City,State
William Peagler Jr. 5’7″/PG 2029 Dayton, OH
Zahkai Hussein-Bey 6’2″/C 2029 Cleveland, OH
Senoj Jones 4’10″/PG 2029 Columbus, OH
Keonte Smith 6’2″/C 2028 Dayton, OH
Kypton Norris 5’6″/PG 2028 Hilliard, OH
David Johnson III 4’9″/SG 2032 Worthington, OH
Jordan Taylor 4’8″/PG 2032 Gahanna, OH
Caleb Towns 4’4″/PG 2033 Columbus, OH
Joshua Towns 4’8″/WF 2032 Columbus, OH
Keshawn Babbs 5’5″/PG 2029 Columbus, OH
Dalen Cranford 5’4″/PG 2029 Dayton, OH
Landon Miller 5’0″/WF 2031 Dublin, OH
Nolan Moore 4’10″/SG 2031 Reynoldsburg, OH
Trey Deloney 5’7″/CG 2029 Columbus, OH
 Robert Simpson 4’8″/CG 2032 Columbus, OH
 Pilot Bates 4’9″/WF 2032 Cleveland, OH

Standout Performer Pictures

William Peagler Jr.

Landon Miller

Keonte Smith

Kypton Norris

Zahkai Hussin-Bey

David Johnson III

Senoj Jones

Jordan Taylor

Caleb Towns

Nolan Moore

Keshawn Babbs

Joshua Town

Robert Simpson

Pilot Bates

Trey Deloney

Dalen Crawford