Day I of Sonny Johnson’s NEO Elite Showcase tipped off at Garfield Heights High School today and proved to be competitive across several divisions. Over 300 players made the trek to Northeast, Ohio in search of competition and exposure. Soon after NEO Showcase alum Trey Lewis gave an impassioned presentation to campers, the action began. The featured matchup of opening day pitted two of 2029’s brightest stars against each other for ultimate bragging rights!

Ohio’s Deloni Pughsley and North Carolina’s King Bacot are amongst the best in the class, and although the pair have been teammates in the past, they really went at each other. Bacot’s team would race out to an early lead, however, Pughsley would dig deep and lead his team all the way back to victory. We’re not going to declare a victor in the battle, but the head-to-head match up was fun to watch! Tomorrow, we’re anticipating another intense battle between Bacot and Dallas Stewart. Get your popcorn for this one!

Although we have provided an extensive list of day I standouts, below are a few players who deserve special mention. Gahanna’s Zander Pughsley is absolutely recking the camp, both offensively and defensively! No one in the class plays as hard as Pughsley, and that’s on either side of the ball! Dallas Stewart had a big day as well, as did Danny “Tre” Johnson, Marcus Tuason, Caleb Davis, Jaden Perkins, Mason Morris and Aiden Manns. Based on what went down on day one, we can’t wait to see what day two has to offer!

Standout Performers

Name Position Class City/State
Zander Pughsley PG 2031 Gahanna, OH
Dallas Stewart CG 2029 Pickerington, OH
Caleb Davis CG 2031 Atlanta, GA
Danny “Tre” Johnson PG 2029 Austin, TX
Jaden Perkins PG 2029 Mansfield, OH
Marcus Tuason PG 2028 California
Deloni Pughsley PG 2029 Gahanna, OH
King Bacot WF 2029 Virginia
Anthony Burns Jr. CG 2031 Cleveland, OH
Zion Lancaster PF/C 2032 Reynoldsburg, OH
Torrence Cooper Jr. WF 2031 Cleveland, OH
Ike Liggins WF 2031 Michigan
Cooper Parson CG 2031 Texas
Caleb Davis CG 2031 Atlanta, GA
Jordan Taylor CG 2032 Gahanna, OH
Ephraim Smiley WF 2031 Ft.Wayne, IN
Aiden Manns SG 2032 Michigan
Juelz Rios SG 2031 Florida
Davion Brown WF 2029 Unknown
Dakota Jackson WF 2029 Chicago, IL
Blaize Jones SG 2029 Pickerington, OH
Cornelius Williams CG 2028 Ohio
Caden  Covington CG 2029 Michigan
Canaan Yeager Jr. SG 2029 Ohio
Reggie Harwell Jr. PG 2031 Cleveland, OH